Everything You Need to Know About Destiny 2 Season of Dawn

Everything You Need to Know About Destiny 2 Season of Dawn

Bungie announced the next season of Destiny 2, Season of Dawn, with a release trailer on December 3rd, 2019. Players will be sent back to Mercury to make sure the human’s victory against the Red Legion remains a permanent mark in history.


Here’s everything you need to know before Season of Dawn kicks off:

When does Season of Dawn begin?

destiny 2 season of dawn season 9 calendarBungie

Season of Dawn will begin on December 10, 2019 and will end on March 9, 2020, which means there will be three months full of Destiny 2 content!

All players will be able to enjoy the new Solar subclass, Obelisk public event, and the highly-anticipated return of the Elimination PvP mode on day one. 

What is included in Season of Dawn?

included with destiny 2 season of dawnBungie

All Destiny 2 players can enjoy Season of Dawn content for free, such as free Seasonal Rank Rewards, a Seasonal Artifact, a Seasonal Armor Set, and more. If you want the most out of Season 9 of Destiny 2, then you’ll want to purchase the Season Pass.

You can buy the Season of Dawn Season Pass with Silver, an in-game currency that can be earned by spending real-life money. The Season Pass will be available for 1,000 Silver, or about $10. Players who purchased the Collector or Digital Deluxe Edition of Destiny 2 get four season passes, so be sure to check which version you have!

The Season Pass will allow you to enjoy the new six-player PvE mode, Sundial, exotic quests, Triumphs, Bounties, and a ton more. As soon as you purchase the Season Pass, you’ll be instantly rewarded with an Exotic Scout Rifle, Symmetry, and an exclusive Armor Set.

There will be 100 levels in the Season Pass, one set of rewards available for free and another for those who purchased the Season of Dawn pass. All players who purchase the pass will unlock the set of free rewards along with their Season rewards for every level they complete.

What are the new modes in Season of Dawn?

Don’t plan on buying the Season Pass?

You can play through the free public event, Obelisks. You’ll have to activate Obelisks on The Tangled Shore and Mars, and then they will activate the next two that will be available the following week. It’s expected that the activated Obelisks will be used to help aide Osiris, the mighty Titan.

Elimination was a popular game mode in the original Destiny, a 3v3 mode where teammates can be revived. The first team to eliminate the other wins the round. This mode hasn’t been available in Destiny 2, and we expect a bunch of players to hop in to enjoy a match or two of the nostalgic game mode.

Season Pass owners will have access to The Sundial, a 6v6 PvE mode where players will have to turn back time to save a legendary hero and defend against the Cabal. Playing this mode will unlock Timelost weapon frames that can be completed to unlock new weapons.

Bungie is looking to hit hard with the 9th season of Destiny 2, and Season of Dawn looks like it will certainly deliver. Get ready to suit up with your Fireteam as Season of Dawn officially begins on Tuesday, December 10th!


This article was written by Amanda Zelauskas